Home > Etsy, Graceline Paper Studio, origami > “O World, I cannot hold thee close enough!

“O World, I cannot hold thee close enough!


Handmade paper cut butterflies with Kusudama flowers

… thy winds, thy wide grey skies! Thy mists that roll and rise! Thy woods, this ‘spring’ day, that ache and sag and all but cry with colour! That gaunt crag to crush! To lift the lean of that black bluff! World, world, I cannot get thee close enough! Long have I known a glory in it all, but never knew I this, here such a passion is as stretcheth me apart. Lord, I do fear thou’st made the world too beautiful this year, my soul is all but out of me me – let fall now burning leaf; prithee, let no bird call.”  Edna St. Vincent Millay

The last few days in the valley here in Northern California have been divine Spring days. I sit with my diet soda, or a bottle of cold beer, in the swing in my little yard. I hear the House Finches sing, the Gold Finches flutter en masse to the bird feeders, the Scrub Jay calls to chase all the little birds away, the swallows are back, and so too the Bluebirds. The bull frog in the pond croaks, the horses in the barn neigh for food, the daffodils glisten golden in the sunlight …. I am mesmerized by it all. I have boosted my creativity to new heights. I am very happy. I have had my spring fix and my Etsy business awaits me. More origami flowers on the waiting tables.

Butterfly Kusudama Surprise

A deep purple and gold bouquet with two handmade butterflies.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

