Home > Uncategorized > What Is Old Is New

What Is Old Is New


When I graduated from high school in 1962 my grandma gave me a cookbook that has been my friend for all these years. OUR BEST RECIPES from Covenant Church Women of the Braham District Northwest Conference 1962. I LOVE this cookbook, although it is literally ‘falling apart’. Occasionally I will be sharing recipes here, my favorites, from this special recipe book.  Here is one of the many I love (it reminds me of our mobile home days when I was a young bride, cooking from scratch in my lovely kitchen)

Hamburger Potato Casserole

4 or 5 raw potatoes, sliced … 1 pound raw hamburger … 1 can vegetable beef soup (use your own choice here), …1 can mushroom soup … salt and pepper to taste.

I added 1 onion, green pepper chopped, and carrots. Put the sliced potatoes in the bottom of a 2 quart greased casserole. Break the beef into pieces and add on top. Also, here is where you add additional ingredients like chopped onion, chopped green pepper, and chopped carrots. Pour the soups on top and season with salt and pepper, or other spices. Bake, covered, in moderately slow oven of 325 degrees for two hours.  This was always a hit, especially in the winter. Think and try other possibilities. Hopefully we are getting back into ‘home baked’ from scratch movement again.  If you try this and change up the ingredients comment about it and share.

By the way, Mrs. Sarah Setterlund from Mora, Minnesota shared this recipe back in the early 1960’s.

Back soon with my Apple Crisp recipe that is always a hit and very, very, very simple to make.

 

 

Leave a Reply

