Home > Uncategorized > Into The Woods

Into The Woods


“There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
there is a rapture on the lonely shore,
There is a society, where none intrudes,
By the deep sea, and music in its roar;
I love not man less, but nature more.”

Lord Byron

A recent visit to the 20 acres of woods we have in the Sierra foothills at 5,000 ft. elevation brought some surprises. My poor American flag was torn, huge trees and branches down everywhere, and many indentations on the ‘private property’ sign we have hanging at the entrance. Pranksters? Hunters? Hail? I know we have bears and all other forms of animal life visiting our retreat, but human mischief? Hope not. It will take some chain saw work before the camper can be placed in my secluded hide-away. I have to depend on others to help out here. I cannot, and probably will never, learn to operate a chain saw. I go alone to my little corner of paradise when I need some refreshing in my soul, some alone time, some contemplation space, and just to be totally renewed by nature. I am won over by the low sounds of the trains in the valley, by the twitter of the birds, by the wind sounds as they make their way through the trees high above me. I find it the perfect crafting spot. The sun usually shines warmly on my shoulders as I fold paper, dream of new ideas, and take all kinds of nature photos. This is my paradise, my lovely melting place, my ‘dream on’ hide away. I pray this seclusion, and the want to be there, will stay with me forever.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

