Home > Graceline Paper Studio, Uncategorized > Nostalgia Comes For A Visit

Nostalgia Comes For A Visit


“Smell is a potent wizard that transports us across thousands of miles and all the years we have lived.”. By Helen Keller

Someone has been tapping on my shoulder, trying to get my attention. She is my friend, come to visit me again. Her name is Nostalgia and I welcome her in. She brings with her as a gift the smell of Lilacs and Peonies, and Lilies of The Valley, flowers that shine bright in my memory. She has wrapped beautifully a gift for me, the beautiful pictures that Jack Frost drew on my childhood bedroom windows. She holds before me another window that, when
I look through it, I see a mom with red hair and shinning eyes, a
mom in love with her oldest daughter. And there, through that
window I see a daddy too, carrying his favorite girl on his strong
shoulders. I find peace visiting with my friend Nostalgia. She keeps
me company long enough to make me cry a little, and then she
announces, rather boldly, that she must say goodbye. A new day is
dawning soon and we both need our rest. Hugs and kisses goodbye
for my dear friend Nostalgia. She will come again soon, she
reassures me. I miss her when she is gone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

