Home > Uncategorized > My Gramma’s Apple Crisp Recipe

My Gramma’s Apple Crisp Recipe


Today is a ‘quiet order’ day and I can catch up on my larger wedding order from Canada. But in between that I want to share a very yummy recipe from a church cookbook my Grama gave to me when I graduated high school in 1962. TRY IT! And you will love it.

Peel 6 large apples and place in a well greased 9 x 9 inch pan (I use a casserole dish)

Sprinkle with cinnamon and about 3/4 c. white sugar

Meanwhile mix 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup butter, and about 3/4 cup brown sugar together until crumbly.

Sprinkle this over the top of the apples and sugar mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for at least 45 minutes. It begins to smell delicious and you want the end result to have a crispy top. It gets a carmel-like taste to the topping. Serve warm with ice cream. YUMMY and very simple.

=============================================================================================

Even here in northern California it has been chilly. The rains will end soon and we will turn to the desert once again. Watering is essential then. The farmers around here out in the country have planted their tiny tomato plants and seeds. Corn is already peeking up out of the ground. I watered my containers yesterday and tested my irrigation system. Things were beginning to droop. I will check the garden beds today for germinated seeds, and water them all again. The roses are blooming gloriously here now. A rose bush can get to be six feet high and they are absolutely covered in bloom. Glorious spring is upon us here, yet cool. This morning I got a text photo from my sis in Minnesota. It was a photo of snow covering her yard and fir trees. Yup, snowing in Minnesota!

Springtime in California

  1. 04/20/2011 at 11:12 am

    I will definitely try out this recipe. My husband is a big fan of those types of desserts and this sounds right up his alley! Thanks for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

